Friday, August 12, 2011
Is anyone else here annoyed at teenagers in todays society?
I'm annoyed by a lot of today's teenagers, but it's not entirely their fault that they're that way. There's lots of factors. Blame the soccer moms and yuppie dads to start with who try to keep their kids "little" as long as possible. Because of that you have teens who are no longer preparing themselves to be adults, like in centuries past, but instead prolonging their childhood. Also, blame the whole "self-esteem" movement of the 90s, where we didn't encourage the kids to work harder, but instead rewarded them for mediocrity in fear of "hurting their feelings". As a result, you have today's immature, shallow teens who are happy with mediocrity, growing into whiny, shallow, young adults who are happy with mediocrity. Also, blame silly laws infantizing teens, claiming that since they're under 18, they "don't know any better", and are not responsible for their actions. Therefore, they've been given a free p to act like big babies with nobody and nothing to mold them into men and women. And as far as their music choices, blame silly MTV rubbish. Since they're not being molded into responsible young men and women from age 13 on, instead they're molded by crappy pop culture. When you combine overprotective parents who believe their teens are innocent little flowers, a system that rewards them for a half-hearted effort, a legal system that gives them a free p to act like brats, and with nothing else to direct them, an MTV type of culture aimed at them, you get today's teens, who will sadly become tomorrow's adults, or really little kids with an adult body.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment